Print or Share :

2017 Iowa Women of Innovation Award Winners

On Monday, November 13, the Technology Association of Iowa hosted the 10th annual Iowa Women of Innovation Awards. These awards are given to recognize and celebrate women in business, academia, government, or who are leaders in the field of science, technology, engineering and math.

The daylong event included time spent with students grades 8-12, networking, and the award ceremony.

The winners were selected based on their professional experience, history of innovation, ability to think creatively and solve problems, and demonstration of leadership. Along with the professional women winners, two students were awarded $2,500 scholarships. These winners were picked and judged on inventiveness and accomplishments in science, technology, and academic achievement.

This year’s winners are:
  • Research Innovation and Leadership: Dr. Alicia Carriquiry, Iowa State University
  • Academic Innovation and Leadership: Deborah Kent, Drake University
  • Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership: Amy Lank, American Power Systems, Inc.
  • Leadership Innovation: Michelle Bates, BluPrairie
  • Company Innovation and Growth: Kum & Go
  • Rising Star: Bailey Anderson, Principal Financial Group
  • Diversity Champion: Amanda Pietsch, John Deere
  • STEM Champion: Chris Cournoyer, Quad City Engineering and Science Council
  • Legislative Advocacy Leader: Debi Durham, Director, Iowa Economic Development Authority
Student winners and recipients of $2,500 scholarships:
  • Collegian Innovation and Leadership: Patricia Izbicki, Iowa State University
  • Youth Innovation and Leadership: Danielle Panning, Valley Lutheran High School

To read more about this year’s winners, go to the Technology Association of Iowa website.